A question for someone who really knows the rules.?


One evening i was playing with my best freind,we teed of on the par 3 13,i hit a good shot to about 10 feet,my mate hit his shot and as the light was fading we sort off lost sight of it as it went through the back of the green,we had a good look for his ball and could not find it,after a while my mate conceded the hole,i then went to retreive my ball and saw his ball in the hole.Who won the hole?



Answers:

What's in Your Bag ? How far do you Hit Them ? What's Your Handicap ? What do you want to improve in 2007?

This issue was in a US golf magazine within the past two years. The variation in the magazine was that the person thought his original ball was lost and hit another ball only to find his original in the hole. Once the original ball was holed, the hole is done.

Your mate has a bonafide hole in one.

Found the rules. From

http://www.usga.org/playing/rules/books/...

2-4/11 Player with Lost Ball Concedes Hole; Ball Then Found in Hole


Q. In a match, A played his second shot towards the green but he could not find his ball. He conceded the hole to B, whose second shot was on the green. The following players then found A’s ball in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. Since a player may not concede a hole after conclusion of the hole — Rule 2-4 — A holed out in two strokes and won the hole if he made a claim before B played from the next teeing ground (Rule 2-5). If A did not do so, he lost the hole.



Below is another website on point

Do golfballs go bad with time or heat?

you did. after 5 minutes you can stop searching. once he conceded the hole it made no difference where his ball was.

What clothing manufacturer sponsors golf's Ian Poulter?

He won! He had a hole in one, that means you lost when you did not put the ball in the hole. It didnt matter if he conceded or not, because you had already lost the hole.

What are hybrid golf clubs?

u did

What should i use my 21 degree utility wedge for?

If it was a joint decision for him to concede the hole, then the hole would be yours. However, a gentleman may give his discretion on this matter.
Anyway, if he sunk a hole in one then he must buy the drinks in the 19th!

Cheers!

Golf Set Materials - Which to Choose?

In the rules of match play. If one player gives up looking for his/her ball, that ball is considered lost. So since he conceded the hole, before finding his ball. You are still the winner. I will give you an example. If you watch the pros they will conceded a 3 foot putt. That player can still putt it, but say he misses it, since the hole was conceded that putt means nothing. At least your friend can say he had a hole in one. Although you won the hole!

Golf sets I'm in the process of buying a new golf set, Should i replace some of the irons with fairway woods .

Shmesh is correct! Anthony C makes a good point, but unlike the pros there are no field judges to have actually seen that the ball had gone in the hole. As a couple of gentlemen out on the golf course why would you want to take a hole in one away from him?

Heres how I would look at it you hit your ball. He hit his ball, it went into the hole. You lost the hole, therefore he could not have conceded a hole that was already over. If there were judges or daylight you would have seen that he had made a hole in one. He wins.

Does anyone have a chart as to the specs re golf club distances?

Well, by PGA rules, your friend loses the hole because he conceded the hole. Even if you found his ball after he conceded the hole, it doesn't matter. By PGA rules, you win the hole.

What is the longest length for a golf club?

OK, you said, Please only answer if you have or genuinly think you have the right answer".

Well, as it turns out, this question and answer are actually provided in the USGA rules book, which is available on line. Here's the ruling, directly from the USGA:

2-4/11 Player with Lost Ball Concedes Hole; Ball Then Found in Hole

Q. In a match, A played his second shot towards the green but he could not find his ball. He conceded the hole to B, whose second shot was on the green. The following players then found A’s ball in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. Since a player may not concede a hole after conclusion of the hole — Rule 2-4 — A holed out in two strokes and won the hole if he made a claim before B played from the next teeing ground (Rule 2-5). If A did not do so, he lost the hole.

What do the degrees on a golf club refer to? such as a club with 9.5 degrees?

It has been interesting reading all the answers to this questions and the different interpretations of the rule and depending on situations many of the answers have grains of truth. If a person concedes a hole and then finds his ball, anywhere, BUT in the cup he loses the hole. However " being in the cup is the key" . The rules of Golf say that once a ball is holed, then that hole is completed. It makes no difference if you saw the ball go in the cup or not. You cannot concede a hole for a lost ball after the hole has been completed. So in this case the person who struck the ball fairly from the tee and it went in the hole is the winner of the hole. His consession of the hole is invalid since the hole was completed the moment the ball went in the cub.

How do i put more spin on my shots inside 100?

This is not an uncommon occurrance and has been delt with in the Decisions on the Rules of Golf. Your mate won the hole because the hole was concluded after your mate's ball was in the hole.

His concession was irrelevant because a player can't concede a hole after the conclusion of the hole.

Who here is glad to see Phil win the Players Championship?

From my knowledge as soon as your opponent has declared the ball to be lost and has said they have conceded the hole you automatically win the hole regardless if your opponent finds their ball after or not.
Hope this helps
also note that you should look for a ball for maximum 5 minutes after that you automatically win the whole in matchplay whether or not your opponent finds it

Pro v1, callaway HX, or nike ONE golf ball?

In this world we make are own rules..and create are own realitys...the way I see it is that you won the trophy..but the honors go to him

Do you think that the Jewish holoaust really happened?

If he conceded the hole its over, no trade backs.

What happened to LPGA sensation, the one thats gonna change it all, Wie. JAJA?

You won the hole according to the rules but mate.he kicked ***!!...lol. Glad to hear u both celebrated his hole in 1.

More Questions & Answers...
  • Has anyone else played whistling straights golf course in Wisconsin?
  • What equipment do you use?
  • What is the best Golf Driver in the market now?
  • Golfers, what am I doing wrong?
  • How to call grip a golf club ?
  • I need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?
  • Does the momentus swing aide actually work?
  • What golfer got a new hip in 1999, causing him to miss his first Masters in 40 years?
  • Can anyone explain the golf scoring system? I'm obviously not a golfer, just curious.?
  • What club did Sandy Lyle hit from the bunker on the 18th to win the Masters in 1985?
  • What is the point of golf?

    This article contents is create by this website user, Sports1234.com doesn't promise its accuracy.
    Copyright 2007-2009 Sports1234.com     Contact us    Terms of Use

    Sports