About golf rules?
regarding White out of bounds stakes or Red hazard stakes, does the ball need to be fully beyond the inner part of partainging stakes on the OB Stakes and what about Hazard stakes?
That part of a water hazard to be played as a lateral water hazard should be distinctively marked. A ball is in a lateral water hazard when it lies in or any part of it touches the lateral water hazard.
Note 1: Stakes or lines used to define a lateral water hazard must be red. When both stakes and lines are used to define lateral water hazards, the stakes identify the hazard and the lines define the hazard margin.
All ground or water within the margin of a water hazard is part of the water hazard. The margin of a water hazard extends vertically upwards and downwards. Stakes and lines defining the margins of water hazards are in the hazards. Such stakes are obstructions. A ball is in a water hazard when it lies in or any part of it touches the water hazard.
Note 1: Stakes or lines used to define a water hazard must be yellow. When both stakes and lines are used to define water hazards, the stakes identify the hazard and the lines define the hazard margin.
If ANY PART of the ball is in bounds, the ball is considered to be in bounds. So, the ball can touch the OB line or stake and still be in bounds. Even if it is MOSTLY OB, as long as some part is in, the ball is still in. (And you can legally stand OB to hit it)
It is the opposite for hazards (both lateral (red) and the ordinary (yellow)) If any part of the ball touches the hazard (line or stake) the ball is in the hazard.
But, since you can choose to play a ball from a hazard, this doesn't really matter much. So it is technically touching the hazard line, and you are technically in the hazard. You can still play it is you want to, or you can take the one stroke penalty and take your drop.
BTW it is legal to pull out a hazard stake if it is in the way of the shot (just replace it afterwards). It is NOT legal to move an OB stake.
More Questions & Answers...