A question regarding base-running?


Question:Let's say, speedy base-runner is on 1st with no-out. I am a hitter. And I hit a pretty fast line drive diretly toward 2nd baseman. But he dropped a ball on purpose ( tapped w/ glove to stay in front of him). A runner on 1st is only 2-3 steps away from 1st, so 2nd baseman threw to SS(who is on 2nd)which makes it 1 out, then he threw to 1st to make it double play.
Is this liegal in the baseball? If the umpire rules it illegal, how can they determine if 2nd baseman did it intentionally or not?

Answers:

Can you just imagine what kind of speech Rickey Henderson will give at his hall of fame induction ceremony?

It's an illegal play. The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out on the "catch," and the runner returns to first.

Those who say otherwise have no clue what they are talking about. Notice they don't cite a rule.

Softball baseball funfacts?

no its not illegal

Whats anyones word on the Worth Amp, easton cxn quatrum, or any other bats thats nice but not too expensive?

illegal on a pop fly, but not on a line drive.

Where will Edward Easley go in the MLB draft?

it's not illegal.

it was determined that if the second baseman drops the ball, the batter should have sufficient time to reach 1st.

Though when there are runners on 2nd AND 1st, then the infield fly rule is in effect, and the batter is automatically ruled out.

Which baseball team is the best?

I don't hink it really matters! I think playing any sport takes strategy and if he got the double play by blocking the ball instead of catching it for just one out then I say More power to him. Smart play!

What is the ruling in baseball when a base runner gets out stealing and the batter has a count of 2-2?

sure dude. it was a very smart play..

Favorite sports teams?

illegal

What players will wear 42 on Jackie Robinson day?

This is really up to the umpire. He has to make a decision whether or not he thought the drop was intentional. If he does think it was intentional he should call it a dead ball, call the batter out and the runner remains at first.

Anyone seen that Sportscenter Ad?

You are essentially asking about the infield fly rule.
The infield fly rule takes effect when there are runners at two bases and there are less than two outs in the inning. In this situation, rule can be implemented if the ball is hit into a fly ball and the batter is then called out before the ball even comes down. Line drives do not apply, but what is a line drive and what is a fly ball is up to the umpire.
So if there is only one man on base, the infielder can choose to catch or drop a line drive.
This usually isn't a good strategy to try for the double play. Most often, the base runner at 1st base will be doubled up by throwing to 1st base after catching the line drive and forcing him out for not tagging up. Or if the infielder decides to try dropping the ball on purpose, the extra time it takes to drop, pick up, flip to 2nd base and throw to 1st base will be enough time for the hitter to beat the throw.

Do you think Dale Murphy is Hall of Fame worthy?

the Umpire used his judgment to call an infield fly rule on the line drive. He was a better man then most cause some wouldn't have done that. You can't determine if he did it on purpose or not but calling the infield fly rule save the offense form that.

Who is your favorite MLB team?

This is perfectly legal. It doesn't matter if he does it on purpose or not.

This sort of thing is the reason for the infield fly rule when there are runners on first and second or the bases loaded.

The umpire can call infield fly with first and second, or the bases loaded on a popup in or around the infield. The hitter is automatically out. The baserunners do NOT have to advance, but can at their own risk.

This was done because on a popup, guys would intentionally drop the ball and use it to create an easy double or triple play depending on the situation.

However, with only a runner on first base, it's perfectly legal to drop the ball and try to turn the double play.

Can yall help with my fantasy baseball second baseman dilemma?

it doesnt matter if it is intentional or not. it is only one out.

What is the name of the song Prince Fielder (Mil. Brewers) uses when he goes up to bat?

Intentionally dropped ball -- Rule 6.05k
Batter out, runners returned to base occupied at time of pitch.
Any time the infielder manipulates the ball downward it should be ruled in this manner.

More Questions & Answers...
  • Which sections are under the over hangs at Shea Stadium?
  • What's the chances of getting your message on a Baseball Scoreboard?
  • Where did the term "Pickle" come from in Baseball?
  • Just How Good Is Brian McCann of the Atlanta Braves?
  • I live in Texas but I am a huge Red Sox fan. Is there a way around the MLB blackouts?
  • What happened to harold robbins?
  • What is the best pen/marker to use when getting an autographed baseball?
  • Indians Fans, what are the best seats for your money at the Jake?
  • How do you throw a 12-6 curveball?
  • Who is going to close this year for the dodgers?
  • Who is better overall? shawn hill or jason bergmann?

    This article contents is create by this website user, Sports1234.com doesn't promise its accuracy.
    Copyright 2007-2009 Sports1234.com     Contact us    Terms of Use

    Sports